Skip to product information
1 of 1

John Hare

Field Trip to Volcano Island

Regular price
$24.99 CAD
Regular price
Sale price
$24.99 CAD
A wordless picture book adventure takes a group of students to visit a thrilling volcanic island.

Perfect for fans of Field Trip to the Moon, Field Trip to the Ocean Deep, and field trips in general!


John Hare’s rich, atmospheric art invites all children to imagine themselves in the story – a story full of surprises and adorable new friends.

The same students we met in Field Trip to the Moon and Field Trip to the Ocean Deep travel to a volcano island on a yellow school bus helicopter. When they get there, one student picks flowers as they hike to the top and then accidentally slips down a crater and can’t get out.

The student isn’t too worried--especially when he meets a lava monster and its children who are fascinated by the flowers. But when they touch them, they burn beyond recognition so the student teaches them how to make a vase using lava from a lava pit, fills it with water from a canteen, and they all sit back to enjoy the flower arrangement until help arrives and rescues the student.

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection


Praise for previous books by John Hare




Field Trip to the Moon
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year 
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year 
A Bank Street Best Book of the Year - Outstanding Merit 

Field Trip to the Ocean Deep
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
  • Example product title

    Example product title

    Vendor:
    Vendor
    Regular price
    $24.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.99 CAD
  • Example product title

    Example product title

    Vendor:
    Vendor
    Regular price
    $24.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.99 CAD
  • Example product title

    Example product title

    Vendor:
    Vendor
    Regular price
    $24.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.99 CAD
  • Example product title

    Example product title

    Vendor:
    Vendor
    Regular price
    $24.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.99 CAD