The Plotters

The Plotters

$21.00
A "Korean noir" crime novel that hit multiple 2019 best-of lists, set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance. For fans of Han Kang, Patrick DeWitt and Kill Bill.

Reseng is an assassin, and behind every assassination, there is an anonymous mastermind--a plotter--working in the shadows. Raised by a philosophical and cantankerous killer named Old Raccoon in his crime headquarters, The Library, Reseng has always been surrounded by plots--and by books that no one ever reads. When at last he steps outside the plot on a job, he risks his future--and uncovers an extraordinary scheme being cooked up by an eccentric trio of young women: a convenience store clerk, her wheelchair-bound sister, and a cross-eyed obsessive knitter. And they will push Resend to decide whether he will be used as a pawn, or if he can take control of the game.
     Un-su Kim has written that rarest of novels, a cracking commercial crime novel that sings with the soul, wit, and lyricism of real literary craft. The Plotters is page-turning, hilarious, soul-searching, and deeply entertaining. It is a wake-up call to genre lovers and literary readers alike.