Skip to product information
1 of 1

Yasuko Thanh (CA)

Mistakes to Run With

Regular price
$24.95 CAD
Regular price
Sale price
$24.95 CAD
A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A devastatingly frank memoir that tears open the past to examine how circumstances--and the choices we make--dictate the people we become, for fans of Educated and The Glass Castle.


Mistakes to Run With chronicles the turbulent life of Yasuko Thanh, from early childhood in the closest thing Victoria, BC, has to a slum to teen years as a sex worker and, finally, to her emergence as an award-winning author. As a child, Thanh embraced evangelical religion, only to rebel against it and her equally rigid parents, cutting herself, smoking, and shoplifting. At fifteen, the honour-roll runaway develops a taste for drugs and alcohol. After a stint in jail at sixteen, feeling utterly abandoned by her family, school, and society, Thanh meets the man who would become her pimp and falls in love.

The next chapter of her life takes Thanh to the streets of Vancouver, where she endures beatings, arrests, crack cocaine, and an unwanted pregnancy. The act of writing ultimately becomes a solace from her suffering. Leaving the sex trade, but refusing to settle on any one thing, Thanh forges a new life for herself, from dealing drugs in four languages to motherhood and a complicated marriage, and emerges as a successful writer.

But even as publication and awards bolster her, she remains haunted by her past.
  • Vendor:
    Kali Fajardo-Anstine

    Sabrina & Corina

    Regular price
    $35.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $35.00 CAD
    Sabrina & Corina
    Sold out
  • Vendor:
    Areli Morales

    Areli Is a Dreamer

    Regular price
    $23.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $23.99 CAD
    Areli Is a Dreamer
  • Vendor:
    Paola Ramos

    Finding Latinx

    Regular price
    $22.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $22.95 CAD
    Finding Latinx
  • Vendor:
    Shirley Jackson

    The Haunting of Hill House

    Regular price
    $32.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $32.00 CAD
    The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  • Vendor:
    Rebecca Green

    How to Make Friends with a Ghost

    Regular price
    $21.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $21.99 CAD
    How to Make Friends with a Ghost by Rebecca Green
  • Vendor:
    David Demchuk (CA)

    Red X

    Regular price
    $24.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.95 CAD
    Red X
  • Vendor:
    Jessica Love

    Julián Is a Mermaid

    Regular price
    $22.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $22.99 CAD
    Julián Is a Mermaid
  • Vendor:
    Merle Miller

    On Being Different

    Regular price
    $19.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $19.00 CAD
    On Being Different
1 of 8