Skip to product information
1 of 1

Katherine Ashenburg (CA)

Her Turn

Regular price
$22.95 CAD
Regular price
Sale price
$22.95 CAD
One of The Globe and Mail’s “Summer 2021 books preview: 40 hot reads that will captivate you”
 
One of Maclean’s’ “20 books you should read this summer”
 
For fans of Nora Ephron and Jennifer Weiner, here is Katherine Ashenburg's witty, contemporary new novel about a forty-something newspaper columnist navigating her bold next chapter, set in Washington against the 2015 US presidential primary.


In the autumn of 2015, forty-something journalist Liz is working at a national newspaper in Washington, D.C., where Hillary Clinton’s run for the presidency is the talk of the town. The divorced parent of a college-age son, she appears to lead a full, happy life: devoted friends, a job she adores, a breezy dating life. But deep inside, Liz is stalled in neutral, stuck in a clandestine affair with her boss and still brooding on her marriage, which ended in betrayal, hurt and anger ten years ago.
 
 Liz’s job is to edit “My Turn,” a column of personal essays from readers. Her tidy life is upended when a submission about a marital squabble arrives from Nicole, the woman who had an affair with Liz’s husband and is now his wife. Wife Two has no idea that she is sending an essay to Wife One, and Liz keeps this secret as she engages in an increasingly personal critique of the piece. But the existence of the essay destabilizes Liz, and she starts acting erratically—publishing provocative essays that infuriate her colleagues, investing in a pile of unread self-help books about “forgiveness” and indulging in questionable romantic decisions. Soon she is caught in a tangled web of her own making, with no easy escape.
 
 A smart, wise and witty novel with moving depths beneath its delightful surface.
  • Vendor:
    Yuval Noah Harari

    Sapiens

    Regular price
    $23.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $23.00 CAD
    Sapiens
  • Vendor:
    Taylor Jenkins Reid

    Daisy Jones & The Six

    Regular price
    $19.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $19.95 CAD
    Daisy Jones & The Six
  • Vendor:
    James Clear

    Atomic Habits

    Regular price
    $36.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $36.00 CAD
    Atomic Habits
  • Vendor:
    Sally Rooney

    Beautiful World, Where Are You

    Regular price
    $32.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $32.00 CAD
    Beautiful World, Where Are You
  • Vendor:
    Delia Owens

    Where the Crawdads Sing

    Regular price
    $35.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $35.00 CAD
    Where the Crawdads Sing
  • Vendor:
    Ashley Audrain (CA)

    The Push

    Regular price
    $24.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.95 CAD
    The Push
  • Vendor:
    Sally Rooney

    Normal People

    Regular price
    $21.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $21.00 CAD
    Normal People
  • Vendor:
    Gail Honeyman

    Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

    Regular price
    $19.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $19.95 CAD
    Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
1 of 8