Skip to product information
1 of 1

Katherine Ashenburg (CA)

Her Turn

Regular price
$22.95 CAD
Regular price
Sale price
$22.95 CAD
One of The Globe and Mail’s “Summer 2021 books preview: 40 hot reads that will captivate you”
 
One of Maclean’s’ “20 books you should read this summer”
 
For fans of Nora Ephron and Jennifer Weiner, here is Katherine Ashenburg's witty, contemporary new novel about a forty-something newspaper columnist navigating her bold next chapter, set in Washington against the 2015 US presidential primary.


In the autumn of 2015, forty-something journalist Liz is working at a national newspaper in Washington, D.C., where Hillary Clinton’s run for the presidency is the talk of the town. The divorced parent of a college-age son, she appears to lead a full, happy life: devoted friends, a job she adores, a breezy dating life. But deep inside, Liz is stalled in neutral, stuck in a clandestine affair with her boss and still brooding on her marriage, which ended in betrayal, hurt and anger ten years ago.
 
 Liz’s job is to edit “My Turn,” a column of personal essays from readers. Her tidy life is upended when a submission about a marital squabble arrives from Nicole, the woman who had an affair with Liz’s husband and is now his wife. Wife Two has no idea that she is sending an essay to Wife One, and Liz keeps this secret as she engages in an increasingly personal critique of the piece. But the existence of the essay destabilizes Liz, and she starts acting erratically—publishing provocative essays that infuriate her colleagues, investing in a pile of unread self-help books about “forgiveness” and indulging in questionable romantic decisions. Soon she is caught in a tangled web of her own making, with no easy escape.
 
 A smart, wise and witty novel with moving depths beneath its delightful surface.
  • Vendor:
    Kali Fajardo-Anstine

    Sabrina & Corina

    Regular price
    $35.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $35.00 CAD
    Sabrina & Corina
    Sold out
  • Vendor:
    Areli Morales

    Areli Is a Dreamer

    Regular price
    $23.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $23.99 CAD
    Areli Is a Dreamer
  • Vendor:
    Paola Ramos

    Finding Latinx

    Regular price
    $22.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $22.95 CAD
    Finding Latinx
  • Vendor:
    Shirley Jackson

    The Haunting of Hill House

    Regular price
    $32.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $32.00 CAD
    The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  • Vendor:
    Rebecca Green

    How to Make Friends with a Ghost

    Regular price
    $21.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $21.99 CAD
    How to Make Friends with a Ghost by Rebecca Green
  • Vendor:
    David Demchuk (CA)

    Red X

    Regular price
    $24.95 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $24.95 CAD
    Red X
  • Vendor:
    Jessica Love

    Julián Is a Mermaid

    Regular price
    $22.99 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $22.99 CAD
    Julián Is a Mermaid
  • Vendor:
    Merle Miller

    On Being Different

    Regular price
    $19.00 CAD
    Regular price
    Sale price
    $19.00 CAD
    On Being Different
1 of 8